top of page
Gina DeFrancesco

Downtown Denver: Running through RiNo

Updated: Oct 26, 2021

One of my favorite activities, which comes far and few between, is rummaging downtown. Denver is full of young and vibrant folk meandering around the hippest and latest spots. I love exploring Downtown Denver as it never seems to be the same trip twice. There are so many exciting pockets that make up the city and there is something for all walks of life to enjoy.


My favorite area is the River Arts North District, otherwise known as RiNo. It is blanketed in local artists' work, color paints the walls, quotes line the sidewalks, and quirky shops, restaurants, and bars fill the district. I have not yet once, nor will I ever, have a bad time in RiNo; I imagine it is simply not possible. I lit-er-ally thrive. The energy just feeds the soul and once you arrive, it is a breath of fresh (mountain) air and your inner child can finally take over.


Last Saturday, we frolicked around the RiNo area for our good friend's 28th birthday and it was nothing short of a blast. Join me for a quick reminiscent walk down RiNo lane.

Denver Biscuit Co.


Okaaaay - first of all, why haven't I ever been here before? My tastebuds couldn't have thanked me more as they delightfully danced through brunch. Denver Biscuit Co. is well-deserved popular brunch spot located on Broadway (which isn't quite RiNo, but we started our day here, so back off). It was a Saturday on a holiday weekend and the wait was definitely lengthy, but the $5 mimosas made it quick, and it was well worth every. single. second. I would recommend waiting regardless of how long it is and usually I’m too hungry to advocate for something of such sorts so, trust a sis.




I decided on the DBC which is buttermilk fried chicken, bacon, cheddar, shredded iceberg lettuce, tomato, and chipotle ranch squeezed in between two flaky, soft, perfectly cooked buttery biscuits. I took the liberty and ask for my chicken to be Nashville style because I know what's up and I like good food. DBC also gives this mouthwatering hot sauce with their plates and needless to say, every single bite of my "sandwich" was gone. It was so freaking delicious. Typically, I eat predominately vegetarian and I would gladly eat this every day. I propose you try DBC if you haven't graced yourself with this delicious treat and if you have already been there, go again. :)


We then grabbed six Lime scooters and scooted our butts the 15 minutes to RiNo. So fun, highly recommend, 10 out of 10.


Ratio.


Next up was Ratio. Ratio is the perfect place to enjoy a Saturday afternoon in the warm Coloradan sun sipping on a sour. It is a lively brewery that has ample seating on Larimer Street along with shaded benches and picnic tables along the side. Conveniently placed misters keep you and your fur friends cool so you can enjoy your company without your face melting off. Ratio also provides live music, which I have yet to see, but the offer is there. I have been to Ratio a number of times and I have enjoyed it every time. Not only is it a relaxing, chill atmosphere but the drinks are just as good as the energy the environment exudes.


Honey Elixer Bar.


This place is a WHOLE VIBE. I have seen Honey as I've walked through the main alley of RiNo and have always said I wanted to go but it never seemed to fit into the flow whenever I pranced by. Then, TikTok introduced me to what Honey was and omg, YES. Literally, I want to live there. Kick off my shoes, throw me a blanket, and let me submerge myself into Honey's velvety, earthy, hippie chic atmosphere. Colorful couches, plant walls, crystals, creative elixirs, and awesome employees cultivate this sick place to spend your time whether it's working on an essay, writing your latest blog, reading the latest Real Housewives news, or catching up with a friend. I love it, I love it, I love it. It is dripping in an eclectic ambiance and it cannot be beat.



The Rackhouse.


Need some competition to fuel your fun on your Saturday afternoon? Can't leave behind the memories of beer pong from college? Want to feel like you are my size and everything else around you is either really large or you're in Alice in Wonderland? Go to the Rackhouse!


The Rackhouse is full of life-sized games to add some friendly competition and/or another element of fun to your day. Cup pong, corn hole, and Connect 4 are some of the life-size games offered amid the industrial, garage setting. The Rackhouse is connected to a winery so have some fun engaging in sophisticated adulthood and when the Rosé finally hits, channel back into the normal person you are; let your hair down and play some games.


Matchbox.


Ah, my favorite little hole in the wall dive bar. Although, it's not really a hole in the wall, but it is definitely dive-y. Matchbox gets lit. I don't know what it is but this is a good place to just let loose and have a good time. Not much else to say other than that.





Well, friends. Here are 5 out of probably-a-lot-more-than-5 places in RiNo to check out that are well worth your visit. Use this as a starting point or to recreate my friend's birthday for a really fun Saturday.


RiNo brings a unique vibrance to Denver and is home to some of the most popular restaurants and bars the city houses. Every restaurant and bar has something different to offer and and provides a fresh spin on the Denver culture. I promise you will not be disappointed with a day trip, a quick drop in after a hike, or a night out with your gals in RiNo.


Worthy honorable mentions where I also love to go are: Improper City, 10 Barrell, Los Chingones, Our Mutual Friend, and First Draft.

26 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Keith DeFrancesco
Sep 10, 2021

Love to try the burger, looked delicious.

Like
bottom of page